Fri. Sep 30th, 2022

SAN SEBASTIAN, September 24 (EFE).- After eight days of screenings and with 17 titles in the Golden Shell competition, the jury of the 70th edition of the San Sebastian Film Festival will announce today its list of winners, which they indicate are the Spanish “La Matri” or the Colombian “The Kings”. Like favorite movies like “Of the World”.

The jury is chaired by Argentinian producer Matias Mosterin – after Glenn Close resigned at the last minute – and includes Danish director T Lindeberg, Spanish writer Rosa Montero, filmmaker Lemohang Jeremiah Moses from Lesotho, Iceland’s Hilimalur and PNS. French casting director Antoinette Boulat.

The closing ceremony will begin at 9:00 in the Kursal Palace, where the unknown list of winners will be revealed in recent years, leaning towards radical or minority proposals, such as the Romanian “Blue Moon” (2021). Georgian “Beginning” (2020) or Brazilian “Pacificado” (2019).

The last time Spanish cinema won the Golden Shell was in 2018, with Isaki Laquesta’s “Between Two Waters.”

This year there are several Spanish titles with options: “La Materida”, a play about teenage mothers by Pilar Palomero from Zaragoza, “Sacredness of Spring”, a film by Fernando Franco about the sexual rights of the disabled or “Suro”, the first feature by Basque director Mikel Gurrea. Which can cause a surprise.

Among the international films, the best achievers were “The Kings of the World”, a oneiric “road movie” starring Colombian Laura Mora, Medellin’s street children, and “Sparta”, a controversial portrait of Austrian pedophilia Ulrich Seidl. .

For the second year in a row, the gender gap disappears in the award for best performance, which is shared, yes, between the protagonist and the cast and can also be given to the former acco, as was the case last year.

Apart from the Golden Shell for Best Film, the other awards in the official category are the Silver Shell for Best Direction, the Jury Award for Best Photography and the Jury Award for Best Screenplay. Additionally, the jury may award a special award to a film they deem worthy.

The event will start at 9:00 pm and will be broadcast live on TVE’s La 2 and RTVE Play.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.